You are here

Dan Close to receive Beckman award

Dan Close working in Saudi Arabia

ATLANTA, GA—On Saturday, November 14, ten distinguished professors from around the US will be honored with a $25,000 cash tribute from the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust for motivating a former student to make a difference in his or her community. Dan Close, PhD, an associate professor in the College of Eduation's Family and Human Services program, is among the awardees.

The Beckman Award Trust was originated in 2008 and has since bestowed an amount of over $1.7 million to 73 professors and faculty. The idea for the Beckman Trust was conceived by Gail McKnight Beckman in recognition of her mother, Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman.

“A professor who can motivate a student to change the world is one of the most valuable resources we have in America.It is an honor for the Beckman Trust Award committee to pay tribute to ten more exceptional mentors this year”, said  Andrew Davidson, PhD, Beckman Award Trust committee member.

Beckman was a notable instructor and an esteemed author. She made history in her field for being one of the first female psychology professors at Columbia University. Beckman also later taught at the University of Pennsylvania. The full list of 2015 recipients is featured below.

2015 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Recipients

David M. Becker, JD | Washington University School of Law, St. Louis, MO                                         
Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander, JD | University of Georgia, Athens, GA                                                                          
Melisa Cahnmann-Taylor, PhD | University of  Georgia, Athens, GA
Michael Joseph Chorney, PhD | Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey, PA
Daniel Wallace Close, PhD | University of Oregon, Eugene, OR
Marie Anita Failinger, LLM | Hamline University School of Law, St. Paul, MN
Ralph David Fertig, ABD for PhD | University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA
Elizabeth Gerber, PhD | Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
K. Daniel O’Leary, PhD | Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
Florence Wagman Roisman, LLB | Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, Indianapolis, IN                                      
In order to qualify for the award, nominees must be former or current professors or instructors at a college, university, junior college, community college, or technical school in the US and teachers in the fields of law, medicine, or psychology are recommended.

The Beckman Award Trust Committee is comprised of Andrew Davidson of Columbia University, Ruth Lineborg of Bryn Mawr College, Nadine Kaslow of the American Psychological Association, and Phyllis Silverstein of Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

The Beckman Trust is aided by the Wells Fargo’s Philanthropic Services Group.